starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nutrition and early morning training

Default Nutrition and early morning training

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Coach,

A few months ago I started training first thing in the morning. I knock back some coffee and creatine then lift. Been making good progress, and I have enough physical and mental energy for my training.

I’m wondering if I’m leaving something on the table by not getting some protein in before I lift. Is there a “best” approach?

Also, after I train I eat protein and a big dose of carbs. I keep the fat low for that meal. Does it matter when I get my fat grams?

I’m 47, male, 5’11”, 225.

Current best lifts are:

Squat 360 (previous best was 395 but fixing some form issues)
    DL 440
    BP 267
    OHP 185

Current macros p/c/f are 225/360/80 (with 35-40g fiber per day)

Thanks for your time and your work on this forum. It’s been incredibly helpful!

I don't know that protein timing is the issue but it's generally recommended to take some in beforehand. What is your programming like right now?

I'm no expert on this topic, but I think you're doing a good job. Some have an easier time training in the morning, I have a few friends who do the same. I personally do it in the afternoon, I'm not the morning type of person, I get up waaay too late.

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Santana View Post
    I don't know that protein timing is the issue but it's generally recommended to take some in beforehand. What is your programming like right now?
    I’ve been doing Andy Baker’s 852 as a four day split in a seven day week (not his powerbuilding version, the regular one). At the moment, I have a tweaked adductor and hamstring so doing rehab for that while doing regular bench and press days.

Quote Originally Posted by JenniferBolt View Post