starting strength gym

Thread: Need to lose weight, still trying to train

Default Need to lose weight, still trying to train

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I was hoping to get some advice about losing weight while training. Sorry if this repeats questions others have asked, but I couldn't get myself to go through all 5,000+ threads.

For background, I started training about two years ago (beginning numbers: Deadlift 175, Squat 135, Bench 110, Press 90), and with a few long layoffs have run through novice progressions a couple of times. My pre-COVID-19 lockdown PRs were 387 on the deadlift, 365 on squat in March 2020. At that point I was nearing the end of linear progression and starting to think about intermediate programming. The COVID-19 gym closures threw a wrench in that plan, but I was able to get a rack, bar, and 240 pounds of weight in April, so I was able to train up bench and press without too much interference. I got my bench to 227, and my press to 149. I finally found some plates for a decent price in late July, so I'm now working on getting my squats and deadlifts back up, too (currently 345 and 365, respectively). My power cleans are pretty pathetic (PR 155, currently 140)--eventually I'll pony up and get some coaching to work on that.