starting strength gym

Thread: NLP Starting calories & macro values?

Default NLP Starting calories & macro values?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a 52 year old 193lb 6-foot tall male, on my 3rd attempt at the novice linear progression (last two de-railed from time off from illness, and from an intercostal sprain injury from wearing belt too high). Before I started lifting I was around 180lb.

What should my starting calorie consumption & macronutrient values be for the novice stage?

In the blue book it says between 3500-6000 and around 200g protein, but just curious if there were more exact numbers I should shot for given my age/height/weight. This time around I'm going to actually track macros & calories so interested in a starting point.

My current numbers:
    Squat: 225
    Dealift: 270
    Bench: 140
    Press: 90

Last time around I got my squat around 275 and then started to plateau - I think it was YNDP of inadequate diet & not enough sleep, so this time I want to at leas dial in the nutrition part correctly. Thanks!

You only figure out exact numbers by starting with the general numbers and tracking your lifts, bodyweight, and waist circumference. Based on how those numbers change, especially your lifts, you can adjust and fine tune from there. 3500 is a good start for a guy your size lifting what you are lifting.

Hello, I am 6'4'' 220lbs and I wonder if I eat enough at 3300kcal/day and 180-230g of high quality protein a day. The book suggests 4000kcal but I have slightly under 20% bodyfat already and I am genuinely unsure about whether or not to go north of my number. My lifts are going up though I have only trained for 2 weeks and I still am able to make 5lbs jumps on my press. I just worry that I don't eat enough. I don't particularly care about staying under 20% bf.