starting strength gym

Thread: Nutrition questions and background

Default Nutrition questions and background

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey there,

I am new to the forum and am looking for some nutrition advice (I posted this in the Mark Rippetoe Q&A forum and he accused me of being a troll, which I promise I am not). I am a 27 year old 6 foot tall male and I currently weigh 135. You can probably guess by this description alone that I am severely underweight AND, you guessed it, quite weak for my size. To put it in context my 5 rep max on my back squat is 135. I can deadlift 245 for 5 reps and I can bench 145 for 5 reps and I have been training consistently for 7 years though I admit some of that time was spent doing dumb Crossfit exercise but I always had a strength component. I currently eat about 3200 calories per day (I have been tracking diligently for years), and when I increase my calories I notice that I just move more to compensate for the additional energy. I eat about 400 grams of carbs per day, 300 grams of protein, and maybe 30 (ish) calories of fat. I'm not sure where to go with my calories. I want to get stronger, despite having hardgainer genetics, and I am open to any and all suggestions.

~Grant

You are underweight and weak and you have not been training you have been exercising for the last 7 years. Now you are training and you need to eat more. There is absolutely no reason to eat 30 grams of fat and you can probably get away with dropping that protein to 225-250 g/d. Eat 100 grams of fat and 450 grams of carb with 250 grams of protein and see how that breakdown feels. Fat gain should be the least of your concern right now.