starting strength gym

Thread: Am I considered underweight for the NLP?

Default Am I considered underweight for the NLP?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    This is my first time posting and I'm really enjoying all of the material that's here! It's unbelievable how complicated people make strength training!

I'm a 29 year old male, 5ft 10in tall and I weigh 170 as of this morning. I've put on 5 pounds since January 1 (I started NLP in mid-March). I'm currently putting down 2600 calories daily give or take. I have my marco goals set at 195 P, 260 C, and 87 F knowing that if I under eat that day, I'll be extremely close to those numbers. I have a feeling I maybe off though.

I'm not entirely where I fall in the NLP because I starting working out at the gym in November 2019. 2020 came by and gyms were closed from March until some time in June/July. Even then, I wasn't really focusing much on barbell training until about a month ago when I made barbell training the primary (and more often than not) the only training I do in the gym. I've also been practicing TaeKwonDo for a significant portion of my life; September 2019 marked 20 years. This workout takes place 2-4 times a week. Since starting barbell training, I take it easier on the cardio side of this so that I can maintain recovery.

Regardless of where I fall in the NLP, I'm not sure where I fall on the scale of underweight/"on target". Is it realistic to expect to get to 200 pounds? Do I need I need to lower my expectations? I guess by the nature of these questions, I'm indicating that I think I can stand to gain some weight.

Yeah this need not be complicated. You are on the lighter side but I wouldn't say you are underweight. Underweight for strength training though. You will probably need to push yourself closer to 200 lb in accordance with difficulty lifting. Where are your lifts right now?

Thank you for your reply.