starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Early stall - should I be eating more?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by CommanderFun View Post
    A lot of those numbers are actually fairly high for a month of novice work and being underweight.
    I'm a novice to this type of program, but I have been lifting weight pretty regularly since 2013. i finished engineering school and was completely untrained - that is when I added 20lbs.

If you really have that build of a short torso and long arms, your deadlift probably has the potential to fly out ahead of your squat quite a bit.
    Yes definitely. I'm 6'6" and wearing pants 31x38. I look like a scissor lift squatting. You should have seen how bad my squat was before I learned the low bar position. A set of 5 at 135 was difficult to complete. In that case my deadlift was more than 2x my squat. So I have a history of training, but with such a bad squat and no improvement in sight, it was difficult to find motivation to train the squat at all.

Did your starting weights all basically come out to hard but with 2 or so more reps left, or did you try to get as high of a 5 rep set as you could right out of the gate? That's what I did my first time doing this, I was overeager to get started lifting. Early stalls resulted.
    I was doing a pretty popular bodybuilding program from someone else that had "periodization". Basically I was doing the following rotation:

week1: 12-15 reps
    week2: 9-11 reps
    week3: 6-8 reps
    week4: 3-5 reps