• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    37 yrs old
    5’8”
    210 lbs
    Roughly 30% BF

Starting SS Novice program.

I was originally going to start the program in a slight calorie deficit in hopes of reducing body fat, although now I am unsure.

My current thoughts are 3000 calories per day at the right macro’s.

What are your thoughts? I would like to make steady progression in my training, although with my body fat already at 30+%, I don’t mind keeping it at 30% during my initial training, but I would prefer to not add to it, if that makes sense?

Thank you all,

Training history? You should be able to get stronger without getting fatter on the program provided you are actually a novice and not overeating.

Robert,
    Thank you. I am a novice. I had a personal trainer a year ago. Trained with him for a year, mainly hypertrophy. My starting weight was 238 lbs, when I stopped (1 yr total), I was at 190 lbs, gained muscle, and felt good.

Bought a new home and needed to stop spending the $$$$ on a personal trainer. I need to get back into it and start all over.

My training (seriously) consists of 1 year, a year ago.

How strong are you?

I start SS next week. I am actually putting together all of my equipment this week. Not strong. I have not touched a barbell in a year, and I sit at a desk most days.

When I was training, my trainer was focused on me losing weight, I was eating 1800 cal per day. We pushed weight, but it was all 3x12-15.

The week before I stopped, I maxed 205 x 3 on the bench. Considering what I have been reading, my numbers are very low.