starting strength gym

Thread: Optimal Bodyweight Gain During NLP for Endurance Athlete

Cool Optimal Bodyweight Gain During NLP for Endurance Athlete

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Robert! I am new to starting strength and want to ask you the best way to approach it for my specific goals.

I am 5”11 and 34 years old. I slimmed down over the last decade, from about 180 (~20-25% body fat) in 2012, to about 155 (~15% body fat) by 2015 using a combination of HITT and relatively aimless ad-hoc weight lifting routines. I then worked in developing countries where it was difficult to feed myself, and I got down to about 140-145 by 2015. I have remained there with 10% to 15% bodyfat depending on my activity level. Here is what I have done in my first two weeks of starting strength:

• Bodyweight: 144 (~15% body fat) is up to 149
    • Nutrition: Around 3000-3250 calories per day, all clean food tracked in a very detailed excel spreadsheet that I programmed, 30% protein, 40% carbs, 30% fat (about 250g protein, 300g carbs, 90g fat a minimum). I don’t eat any wheat or refined sugar, and I don’t drink.
    • Squat: 115 – 160 3 X 5
    • Bench: 110 – 120 3 X 5
    • Deadlift: 115 – 190 3 X 5
    • Press: 65- 75 3X5

I have not yet added power cleans, but I do four sets of 3 chin-ups on Friday after my regular workout. Right now my only other physical activity is walking 30 mins to 90 minutes per day (some of this is a commute). Obviously, I am not very strong, but things are still progressing at the 3000-3250 calorie level. I have failed a couple of bench and deadlift sets, but have successfully completed them during the following workout.