starting strength gym

Thread: Returning to NLP as a VERY fluffy individual after a long layoff

Default Returning to NLP as a VERY fluffy individual after a long layoff

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Robert

A bit of back story - found SS a long time ago (around 2013), started as a 27yr old who had previously gone from 294lbs to 196lbs with traditional starvation, cardio and general bullshit with weights. Long story short, ran it as far as it would go and went into intermediate programming (HLM) but stopped in 2018 (like, completely became sedentary) due to life things, turmoil at home, depression etc. Lifts finished at (1RM tested): Squat - 215kg, Deadlift - 250kg, Bench - 130kg, Press - 95kg, Power Snatch - 70kg (although form was probably sketchy at best, self taught). Never ever managed to get the rack position right for power cleans!

So anyway, restarted strength training in February this year and went conservative to get into the groove and working up using NLP, which is going well (currently still in phase 1 but may need to add snatches/cleans in soon as DL 3x is starting to get hard to recover from).

My question is surrounding body comp. After a looooong layoff of doing not much, I am currently very fluffy around the middle (where I seem to hold every last bit of extra padding) and it is something which needs fixing. Current stats are:

Age - 37
    H - 5ft 10"
    W - 223 lbs
    Waist at navel - 41"
    Chest - 45"
    Thigh - 26"
    Upper arm - 14"
    Forearm - 11"

Current working weights (still progressing every session):
    Squat - 152.5kg 5x3
    Deadlift - 177.5kg 5x1
    Bench - 77.5kg 5x3
    Press - 55kg 5x3

Food: Averaging around 3000 (logged in MyFitnessPal) daily with at least 200g protein and an effort to eat more carbs than fat to fill the calorie quota.