• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    6'3, 20 years old, 230 BW

All-time NLP PRs are as follows:
    Squat: 380 x 3 x 5
    Bench: 195 x 3 x 5
    Deadlift: 415 x 1 x 5
    Press: 137.5 x 3 x 5

Some training background. I started in November 2021 with the empty bar at a body weight of about 175. I was doing that StrongLifts 5x5 bullshit and was quickly burnt out until I discovered Starting Strength and switched to 3x5. After many other programming/recovery mistakes, I eventually got to the above numbers at ~230 body weight by the end of February 2023.

After that, I seemed to hit a wall. I couldn't progress anymore on the NLP, especially in the upper body lifts. Looking back, my recovery was absolutely lacking. I was getting 250+ grams of protein per day but not enough carbs and was probably not in a nearly big enough caloric surplus. Most of my calories consisted of milk, as I was a broke college student.

So, I switched to a Texas Method style split and made some meh progress while staying around the same body weight at 230.
    Squat: 385 x 2 x 3
    Bench: 215 x 2 x 3
    Deadlift: 425 x 2 x 2
    Press: 135 x 5 x 5

This progress obviously slowed very quickly, and I hit yet another wall. This got even worse when I had a nearly 3-week layoff due to some personal endeavors and a pretty shitty case of food poisoning. I dropped down to about 219.

Which brings me to where I am now. For the past 2 weeks I've been running the basic NLP split using bigger jumps in weight to get back up to where I was previously. My plan is to run the NLP again and keep adding weight to the bar, this time in a huge caloric surplus upwards of 4500+ calories a day. My goal is to weigh ~250 by the end of August and see where my numbers get to by then.

As of writing this, I weigh about 228 with a 36-inch waist. Probably 16-18% body fat if I had to guess. No visible abs or striations unless I'm under some crazy lighting.