starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermediate Trying to Cut While Maintaining Strength

Default Intermediate Trying to Cut While Maintaining Strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey Jordan,

25 yr old male, 6'1" low 220's BW.

As the title suggests, I'm an intermediate trainee that needs to cut a little fat. I'm obviously not obese by any stretch of the imagination, but I've definitely acquired some extra padding during my training process. I honestly wouldn't be all that concerned about this, if not for that fact that I'm going to be in a black-tie wedding in early June and currently struggle to fit into the tux I own.

I probably only need to shed about 10 lbs or so, but I know that taking it slow is the best protocol for things like this, so I thought I'd ask for advice early. My main two concerns are:

1. How should I adjust my diet? I honestly don't pay too much attention to total calories and just try to hit my protein macro goal while trying to eat some veggies and limit junk.

2. How should I adjust my programming to maintain as much strength as I can? I'm currently running the 4-day TM split in your 12 Ways to Skin the Texas Method article. I know I've got youth on my side, but I'm unsure if this would be sustainable in a caloric deficit. I don't have any delusions of gaining strength during this process, but I've got my sights set on my 500/400/300 goal, and I'd hate to lose the gainzZz I've worked so hard for.

Thanks, looking forward to your advice.

Neb92,

Thanks for the post.

1) I would reduce energy intake from carbohydrates and fat to a point where you lose weight steadily but slowly.

2) I wouldn't adjust training. You'll be fine and should, in fact, gain strength.

Thanks for the reply!