starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Weight training for 84 year old woman

Default Weight training for 84 year old woman

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    My mother is 84 years old and I want to get her started with weight training. She suffers from painful knees (arthrosis), slightly rounded back and weak arms. I want to take the starting strength program as an inspiration and modify it to suit her. Also she does not have easy access to a gym so equipment should be kept at a minimum.

Below is what I have come up with so far. Please comment or point me in the direction of someone who have done similar things. Merely being a hobbyist myself I plan to involve professional help such as as her physiotherapist. Before I do that, I want to have a realistic plan so I can push the physiotherapist in the direction away from many light isolation exercises that do not trigger growth and from which one becomes fast bored.

Some general rules
    All exercises should be performed very slow. The increased time under tension should result in hypertrophy with lower weights. Also since the resistance is low she will not need more than 1-2 minutes break between each set.
    I will ask her to breath in just before the heaviest part of an exercise e.g. at the bottom of the squat and gently breathe out on the way up. This way it should not be dangerous for her high blood pressure.
    She should aim for 10 reps in each set. She should do 3 sets twice a week.

Squat
    She can easily do 10 seated chair squats. However I believe it is important to get her to go deeper (among other things to train the VMO which helps with knee stability). So she could use a lower chair. She could also hold a heavy dumbell in front of her.

Deadlift
    I was thinking she could do dumbbell deadlifts.

Benchpress
    She could do knee push-ups.

Barbell rows
    Dumbell rows using chair.