starting strength gym

Thread: SS in Mass Setting

Default SS in Mass Setting

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am a Texas HS Football and Track coach. Been doing it 20 years. Very blessed and fortunate to have been "brought up right" in the strength game in the sense of what matters most, form, programming and so forth with my early to mid 20's being spent in WF and training at Rip's gym as well as delving off into some competitive years in PLing into my mid 30's and actually training at Westside and crap like that. I've had great success with strength and speed development in HS coaching winning State Championships in both Powerlifting and Track. I happen to agree with Rip in the sense that HS public school coaches are extremely retarded in their understanding and application of basic barbell fundamentals to the performance enhancing aspect of sports. I'm a rare cut of coach in the sense that I believe, specifically in football, if we are stronger than you, we will beat you. So in a nutshell - that's me.

I constantly, like so many here, seek, study and read things to constantly improve. The longer I stay on this journey, the more I embrace and love the simplicity of SS. I've probably adhered to 90% of the concept over the last 15 years. I would say most of my programs evolve to some form of intermediate level lifting and we have had some tremendous success and accomplishment in strength and speed gains.

4 weeks ago, I got a job in my hometown, coaching here and while there is plenty of athleticism and ability here and they had a very successful football season that ended in the State Quarterfinals.....they happen to be the weakest group of HS athletes I've experienced in my career. The great news, is that some key staff members agree and want to make a change. So Starting Strength for Novices begins this Monday.