starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: novice curl programming question

Default novice curl programming question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,

I'm a novice -- this is my third week, so I really, really don't know what the heck I'm doing. I'm 43 years old, 5'11", and 210 pounds, most of the excess weight in the form of a beer belly.

I'm doing fairly well on the squat, alternating press / bench, and deadlift portion. Today my work sets were squats were 130 and my deadlifts were 135. Last bench was 90 and today's presses were at 60.

I decided to add curls as well, not because I want BIG BICEPS BRO, but because I cannot do even a single chin-up. Last week I did a curl warmup of 45, then 3 sets of 5 @ 55 and felt good. The day before yesterday I upped it to 3 sets of 5 @ 60 and failed at the third rep of the third set, so I figured I'd do the same thing today. Guess what, I did the same thing... 1x5 warmup @ 45, 2x5 work @ 60 and failed on the third rep of the third set.

What should I do? The weight room @ the gym doesn't have smaller then 2.5# weights. Do I keep failing @ 60# until I get it, should I back down to 55# and do four sets instead of three, or is now the time to buy the smaller weight set and toss it in my gym bag because I'm gonna need it anyhow?

thanks for your time.

ps. CROM.

Quote Originally Posted by CimmerianInTraining View Post
    Hi,

I'm a novice -- this is my third week, so I really, really don't know what the heck I'm doing. I'm 43 years old, 5'11", and 210 pounds, most of the excess weight in the form of a beer belly.

I'm doing fairly well on the squat, alternating press / bench, and deadlift portion. Today my work sets were squats were 130 and my deadlifts were 135. Last bench was 90 and today's presses were at 60.