starting strength gym

Thread: LP Time constraint

Default LP Time constraint

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,

I've been working on my LP for 4-5 months. My issue is that my time in the gym is on my lunch break so I have less than 1 hour. When I started I was able to go Monday, Wednesday, Friday and get all 3 lifts in each time, but for the last month or so the squats are getting heavier and I'm resting longer between sets. I find I am only getting 2 lifts in per workout now. How should I adjust my programming? I can go 4-5 times a week but it would be back to back days.

I've been doing:
    Monday - Squat 5x3, Benchpress 5x3
    Tuesday - Deadlift 5x1, chinups
    Wednesday - Squat 5x3, Press 5x3
    Thrusday - Rest
    Friday - Squat 5x3, Power clean 3x5

Does that look ok? Is it an issue that I'm doing Squat-deadlift-squat 3 days in a row? Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks,

This is certainly a not ideal situation, but if those time constraints are your time constraints, there isn't much you can do. One thing that you can do is start to do your press/bench warm ups in between your heavier squat sets. Maybe that will buy you some time. You can also abbreviate your upper body warm ups depending on what weight you are lifting. Honestly though, I don't see anything wrong with this. I think that it is a reasonable adaptation to allow for time in the gym. I would have to reference the 4 day Texas Method split in PPST when I get home, but I believe the length of time it takes for the Texas Method 3 day is addressed by making it a 4 day program. So basically you are taking a page out of Rip's book.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalton Clark View Post
    One thing that you can do is start to do your press/bench warm ups in between your heavier squat sets. Maybe that will buy you some time.
    I second this idea.