starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Obesity + Starting Strength

Default Obesity + Starting Strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello, my name is Chad. I searched the forum for something similar but most of my search results are from individuals who are in much better shape. I've recently purchased the Starting Strength v3 'and have been doing my homework to start getting stronger. I am a 34 year old male, 5' 11" tall, and I currently weigh 380 lbs. So yes extremely (about 200lbs) overweight. I also have a very sedentary job and am a complete newb at training.

I started my fitness journey back in July at 445 lbs with a ketogenic diet and cardio and so far it has worked fairly well. However I would like to transition to a strength training program.

I can squat without a barbell. When I start though even with an empty 45lb bar, I feel that either I am balancing my bodyweight properly and losing balance over the mid-foot on the bar, or vice versa. My excess weight also seems to be an issue with getting into a proper position for deadlifts.

I would rather not train myself incorrectly and have to relearn everything later. Should I forgo barbell training and continue with strictly cardio until I reach a less obtrusive body shape? Suck it up and get some barbell training? Or split the baby and combine cardio with bodyweight/gym machine strength training exercises until I can handle the bar better?

I vote get training. fwiw
    Even online coaching. If you do the lifts correctly the only issue should be possibly squat depth. Which will come with weight loss.