starting strength gym

Thread: Beginner Weight Advice (Underweight)

Default Beginner Weight Advice (Underweight)

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey there,
    It's my first time posting here, I have only recently started to take interest in testing what my body capable of. Since I don't really know where to specifically post this question I will try in the programming forum and post my form questions in the other sub-forum. I have always been a very skinny guy and was only 133lbs at 6'1" with very little body fat about a month ago. I am currently 138lbs and going up. I started going to the gym about a month ago and for the first three weeks I did bro-splits as most people start out with. Then I started reading up about what would be the actual better option for a beginner and ended up at Starting Strength. I am sure I have made a lot of mistakes in the past 2 weeks I have been doing this programme and have amassed a few questions:

I probably started out with weights that were too heavy (I noticed as I was constantly filming myself that my form was off a lot and that I should probably back down on the weight):

Squat Week 1

M. 88x5x3
    W. 99x5x3
    F. 110x5x3

Squat Week 2

M. 121x5x3
    W. 132x5x3
    F. 143x5x1 143x3x1 (Fail) 138x5x2

Deadlift Week 1

M. 111x5x1
    W. 122x5x1
    F. 133x5x1

Deadlift Week 2

M. 144x5x1
    W. 155x5x1
    F. 166x5x1

Bench Week 1

M. 89x5x3
    F. 95x5x3

Bench Week 2

W. 100x5x3
    S. 104x3x1 (Fail), 95x5x2

I noticed that I am fairly weak compared to other people that have not trained. For example my roommate (Though not doing starting strength and having no prior lifting experience) who is 200lbs and has quite a bit of fat mass can squat 225lbs for 6 reps, bench 135 for 5 reps and deadlift 235 for 5 reps out of the blue. Is this mainly related to my weight or is it something else?