starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How does intermediate programming actually work?

Default How does intermediate programming actually work?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello, I am a novice, but I was just curious about intermediate programming. I知 confused because things like Texas method and HLM, seem like it is the same or less volume than SS and you progress weekly. But programs like the bridge seem like they sky rocket the volume. I am not sure how you would make progress weekly if there is a ton of volume every training day. Are you supposed to keep lifting for several weeks with let痴 just say 5x5 @8, even if the 5x5 @8 weight drops significantly over the weeks, and then deload week? Again I知 not an intermediate, but I知 really curious.

The purpose of effective programming is management of the stress/adaptation cycle via:
    1) application of sufficient stress to provoke adaptation
    2) recovery from applied stress
    3) application of subsequent incremental stress withing the super-compensation cycle

As a beginner the above process occurs with one training session in a 48-72 hour period. As an intermediate the above occurs with >1 training session and in a >72 hour time period.

Please see the following resource for further explanation:
    Practical Programming for Strength Training | The Aasgaard Company

things like Texas method and HLM, seem like it is the same or less volume than SS
    Volume without the context of intensity and frequency is meaningless for determining training stress and recovery factors and therefore program effectiveness.

withing
    within

Thanks, I値l check out the PP book

When you are an intermediate, you need higher stress than a novice to drive strength adaptations. The higher stress can come from volume, intensity and/or frequency.