starting strength gym

Thread: Programming while overworked.

Default Programming while overworked.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I need to have some advice on how to program training when the work hours are very irregular, and tiredness varies a lot from day to day.

Some background information.

31 male. 5'7. Basically very unfit till I began SS almost one year ago.

Stats before/after (in lbs)
    Weight 136 --> 163

Squat 50 --> 180 (5x3)
    Bench 50 --> 175 (3x3)
    OHP 45 --> 105 (3x3)
    DL 135 --> 290 (5x1)

Workload outside of the gym
    I work in healthcare.
    My hours are very irregular. Some weeks I works in shifts (which alternate between days, evenings and nights in pretty random manner, i.e. it's not a 4-evenings week, but rather I'll have to work 3 days, 2 evenings, and 1 night, for example). Other weeks I work as regular 7-day in rows about 9-10 hours a day + on-call 24/24 for the week. Some nights, I get to sleep the whole night. Other nights, I get 7-8 calls, and I barely get to sleep. In average, it's around 1-2 calls per night. All in all, I work 28 days per month average, excluding vacations weeks, of which I have 6 per year.

The end result of this crazy schedule is that my level of energy (and of SNC fatigue) varies a lot from training session to training session and makes LP very hard to maintain. All in all, I never was able to consistenly maintain a 3 day program. Some weeks I'm able to train 3 times, some other I was a walking zombie, and was sleeping all the little time I was not working, so didn't train a single time. Obviously, I was not doing the program, and this shows in the lackluster progress I achieved in a year.