starting strength gym

Thread: Weight belt with SSL

Default Weight belt with SSL

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm working through SSL, when is it appropriate to introduce a weight belt for squats and deads?
    Squats started at 185lbs 3x5, now at 235lbs 3x5 (5 lb increases) - 1RM was 305lbs last I tested it prior to the program
    Deads started at 295lbs 3x5, now at 305lbs 3x5 (10 lb increases) - 1RM was 385lbs last I tested it prior to the program

My previous 1x5 maxes were set with a belt, which is what I used to calculate my starting point.

What is "SSL?"

We don't use 1RM to set novice starting weights.

We don't do deadlifts for sets across.

Yes, wear a belt.

Starting Strength Linear Progression. I have experience lifting, and I am trying the Linear Progression to determine whether I'm still a novice lifter.

Quote Originally Posted by djglynn View Post
    Starting Strength Linear Progression. I have experience lifting, and I am trying the Linear Progression to determine whether I'm still a novice lifter.
    Unless you have some kind of other factors involved (pre-existing back injury, hypermobility), just add the belt when the weights start to get challenging. Use it for the last warm-up set and the work sets.

I think the saying goes.? If you can still add 5lbs. each workout your still a novice.

Wear a belt when you feel you need it. I remember wearing one back at 245 on my squat workouts and now I'm up to 335. The belt just gives your abs something to contract against.

Wear the belt for your last warm up set (to make sure you put it in the proper place and the feel is right before you move to work sets) and then for all your work sets.

Why are you doing 3 sets of 5 for deadlift? YNDTP.

Have to laugh when reading this: "when the weight gets challenging" LOL if you are doing the NLP the weight is always challenging unless you are slacking.