starting strength gym

Thread: Variable Rep Ranges for Progressive Overloading?

Default Variable Rep Ranges for Progressive Overloading?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Instead of linear progression of weight, why not use variable rep ranges?

For example I squatted 200lbs 3x5 last session... next session I go for 200lbs 3x6... 3x7...when I can get to 3x8 @ 200lbs, I'll increase to 205lbs for 3x5... then 3x6... 3x7.... etc keep increasing weight but not before increasing reps...

My #1 concern is safety. Adding weight every session to a 3x5 rep scheme feels unsafe sometimes. Especially days I'm a little tired. It's getting too heavy. I don't care if it takes me an extra few months to reach baseline strength levels. I'm not a pro athlete I'm just a normal dude and not in any overwhelming rush to squat 500lbs. #1 priority is to reduce risk of injury while increasing strength gradually.

My stats in lbs if it matters:
    32 y/o male 5'11, ~2.5 months into linear progression
    w/ a 30% reset after 6 weeks due to travel, flu, & a minor lower back injury
    Bodyweight 210-->224
    SQ 105-->205
    DL 115-->225
    BP 75--> 137
    OHP 55-->100

microloading BP & OHP
    just started learning to clean

Brent Carter is offline Owner, Starting Strength Dallas
    Starting Strength Coach

We are here to increase strength which is a function of how much force you can produce which is a function of how much weight is on the bar.