starting strength gym

Thread: Starting SS again..

Default Starting SS again..

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have worked the program a handful of times in my life starting at 19 years old in college (those novice gains were great..) and a few times since. Due to life, work, and baseball injuries I have been in and out of the weight room.

Now that I am 29 years old, ~20lbs heavy than I ever have been and weak, I want to get back on the program.

My question is should I run the program as prescribed, or since I have some experience/adaptation modify it in some way?

Logic tells me to run a linear progression until it stops (just like a novice) and then adjust accordingly.

I appreciate the feedback and advise!

29 years old
    Male
    ~215 lbs (soft - have not been lifting)
    5' 11"

Run it as designed. You might top out in fewer total workouts than if you had never touched a bar, but the strategy to progress doesn't change. Make sure you are honest about your starting weight. Don't get greedy and try to start where you think you "should" based on your history.

Quote Originally Posted by A Schenck View Post
    Run it as designed. You might top out in fewer total workouts than if you had never touched a bar, but the strategy to progress doesn't change. Make sure you are honest about your starting weight. Don't get greedy and try to start where you think you "should" based on your history.
    Agreed. Just do the LP. Be a little conservative with your starting weights and make sure your technique is in order. Then you may be able to make bigger jumps for a little while since your body has seen this a couple of times before. It might end quickly...or, it might last longer. No way to know ahead of time.