starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming for Novice in Ramadan

Default Programming for Novice in Ramadan

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,

I'm a novice in the 6th week of the program (Phase 2).

All lifts are progress and all is well, but Ramadan is coming up soon.

This where, for a whole month, I only eat and drink in the small window after sunset and before sunrise.

This is of course not optimal for strength training.

So what should my approach be?

Is is smarter to just leave training alone for the whole month and return to it after Ramadan commitments are over? Or alter the program to lower the volume?

If I should leave training alone, how should I go about reintroducing training properly?

Any tips on keeping the strength I have would be nice too

Thanks

Brent Carter is offline Owner, Starting Strength Dallas
    Starting Strength Coach

Can you train at night?

Quote Originally Posted by Brent Carter View Post
    Can you train at night?
    I can train at night but the window of eating is only 6 hours (9pm - 3am in the UK)

So fitting in all that food, plus training is a big challenge

Brent if it's okay with you I'd like to share my experience with Ramadan and strength training. The issue with training in the window between sunrise and sunset is the bloatedness, you'll need to literally stuff yourself for the full time to try rehydrate yourself and get a decent amount of calories. Experiment with either gymming before sunset or after starting your fast. Not working out at all would be the biggest mistake you'll make. Brent can advise on programming I haven't got a clue, but I will say that any attempt on anything heavy will cramp you.

Brent Carter is offline Owner, Starting Strength Dallas
    Starting Strength Coach