starting strength gym

Thread: Am I still able to run starting strength?

Default Am I still able to run starting strength?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey all, this is my first post here. I've been training for a while (~10 years) but was a bro for a while, and only more recently really focused on the big lifts. I've been running 531 for about a year, but looking at my logs, my DL has really stayed the same or maybe even regressed a little. I came across starting strength and read over the squat chapter specifically as I was having a ton of anterior knee pain. Reworking my form has really dropped the weight. I also recently just started doing the OHP. I've never done cleans before. Anyway, sorry to ramble. My current numbers are

DL 280 x 8
    Squat 205 x 5
    DB flat bench 85's x 10
    OHP 95 x 8

So I'm probably overthinking this...but would you recommend running the base novice program to someone in my position?

Thanks in advance and thank you all for all the information on this site!

The advice I give to anybody who asks this is to try. The Novice LP is not complicated, and as long as you are progressing at 5 lbs per workout (some lifts more, some less), then you are taking advantage of your ability as a novice to recover within 48 - 72 hours.

So do the first day protocol, finding weight that is difficult to do with correct form. Then proceed from there. You may find you’re already topped out, you may add 100 lbs to your DL. It is really dependent on your genetic potential. If that’s been relatively untapped, you’ll see some major gains. If you’re already further along the curve, you may need more complex programming.

But like I said, the Novice progression is not complicated. So try it for a month and see.

That makes sense. The worst that can happen is that I dont get anywhere. Thank you!