starting strength gym

Thread: I want to be a "helluva 275"

Default I want to be a "helluva 275"

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Alright so im a 310lb 6ft 2in male.
    I'm currently running HLM and am on schedule to deadlift 500 and squat 405 before the new year.

Current lifts:
    SQ: 380x4x5
    DL: 475X2X3
    BP: 300X4X5
    OP: 175X4X5

I feel that the time has come for my priorty to shift from getting stronger to losing weight. My 3 goals for next year are, In order of importance:

1: drop to 275lbs(for sake of specificty lets say by april)
    2: maintain current strength levels
    3: decrease time spent in the gym( im a grad student and i currently spend 3 hrs easy 3 days a week training)

What kind of programming should i use to accomplish these goals? And what should my nutrition look like?

If you want to drop 35 lbs in 3 months and maintain current strength levels, while spending less time in the gym...all I can really say is good luck. I think that is very likely an unrealistic combination of goals. You could probably do it in 9 months and more or less maintain strength, possibly even set some new PRs in the earlier stages. You could do it in 3 months and spend less time in the gym, but you will lose strength when you cut 3 lbs per week for 3 months. You won't lose all your strength, and you'll be able to get it back when you stabilize, but during a cut like that, you can't expect to not lose strength.

Ok lets drop goal 2 then.

Moderate volume, moderate intensity, fairly large caloric deficit.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Wolf View Post
    Moderate volume, moderate intensity, fairly large caloric deficit.
    so how does this sound four a 4 day Heavy/light split?

Monday
    Heavy squat 70% 1rm for 5x3
    Power Clean/snatch 3x5
    Conditioning 10min

Tuesday
    Heavy press 70% 5x3
    Paused bench 89% of friday 5x3
    chins