starting strength gym

Thread: Could I benefit by treating myself as a "novice"?

Default Could I benefit by treating myself as a "novice"?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey Michael,

Hope this is the right place to post this, but I was looking for some advice.

Background/History information:
    -25 y/o male, 210-212 lbs
    -Recent best lifts:
    -bench: 250x1 squat:440x1 deadlift:530x1 (all within the past 2 weeks)
    Training History:
    -In high school (2008-2011) I basically did the workouts that my high school football and track coaches had us do.
    -From 2011-2016 I trained as a collegiate thrower (discus, hammer, weight throw).
    -When I graduated undergrad I "trained" crossfit for a year and a half before going back to school and for the past year and a half I have not really followed a set/specific program... a little bit of screwing around has happened in this time.

So my question is, do you think I would benefit at this time from doing the novice linear progression or a variant of it? I haven't not been lifting but I have not really had any structure for training since I left undergrad.

Yes, do the LP. The default position is that you're novice unless proven otherwise. You may indeed prove otherwise, but hey, we recently had a guy come in to SSOC who had done an LP on his own ending with a 415x5 squat and he achieved 495x5 by running the LP properly, with coaching. 80 lbs on your top set of 5 is nothing to scoff at.