starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: nagging outer hip pain prevents me from squatting

Default nagging outer hip pain prevents me from squatting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm 24, 5'5 and about 160 pounds. I'll post a vid in the bottom.

Where is the pain exactly? In the outer/mid part of my left hip. Starts where the thigh and the hip connects. When it's really bad, it continues down through the thigh, all the way down to my left knee. That has only happened when I was stupid and added weight even though it was hurting. Not doing that again.

For how long has the pain been around? It got really bad about six months ago. At that point I went travelling and took two months off training. When I got back I started training again with light weights (started at 70 kg) and after two or three sessions, the pain came back.

What triggers it? As I said, it's only there when I'm squatting (with exceptions*). More specifically, it starts when I go into the hole, it peaks when I initiate the ascend and it's gone when I'm fully stretched out in the top position. When I am out of the gym, I can make the pain appear slightly by lifting my left knee as high as possible. *Once I was stupid and kept adding weight even though my hip was in pain. After a few sessions, it took about an hour for the pain to go away after squatting.

What have I done to try and fix it? I know about the connection between knee slide and hip pain. So I've worked hard on eliminating any knee slide lately - yet the pain is still there. I'm inclined to say that it's a bit weaker when I work on keeping my knees in place, but it's still there. I don't know if that's because it just takes time for the injury to heal? Either way, my knee slide was never that bad I'd say.