starting strength gym

Thread: New 38 year old novice, press, warmup, and recovery questions

Default New 38 year old novice, press, warmup, and recovery questions

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

Thank-you coach Rip for your books and knowledge, and also to your coaches. I have SS and PPST. I'm reading and learning, your material is packed with knowledge. I'm currently 60% done SS and only read the Special Populations chapter in PPST.

I am a novice, and have never felt strong in my life - but I decided to do something about this. I am not big boned, or naturally prone to strength - I.e. I'm not genetically gifted for strength. I first hired a personal trainer who was focusing on general exercise more than I wanted. I happened on Stronglifts.com 5x5 which I started. I then found SS, and have moved to SS. I started most exercises with bar only and have been working up - some exercises (bench press) I'm still quite easily able to do and not yet pushing myself.

From my journal:
    174lbs/5'9" - unknown body far but probably 20-30%
    Squat 135 lbs
    Deadlift 155 lbs
    Bench press 85 lbs
    Press 75 lbs
    Power Clean - n/a - I started SS as a 'rank novice', will start once I've read the chapter (aka in the next couple weeks)
    Chins when attempting 3 sets of 5, currently able to do 3,3,2 (first attempted my prior workout)

Eating good. Track my calories and protein. About 3100ish cals, 175g protein or more (roughly 60g from whey protein powder). Good sleep, no kids, so a easy 8 hours a day.

My questions are about my press progress / warmup sets, and recovery times.

Press progress has been very slow. On 2 occasions now, I've had go 3 workouts to get my full set or 3x5 in. As it says in page 304, it's easier to not get stuck than it is to get unstuck. So looking for advice on how to do that.

Yesterday, I completed this set (finally)