starting strength gym

Thread: Initial Weights and Increases

Default Initial Weights and Increases

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    First of all, I am really sorry if these questions have been answered before.

So, I have been doing some weight lifting since ~6 months now and I had some "ok" progress. My program was based on what I could find here & there. But now, it is time to get a real one.

My two questions:

1. I haven't made a huge progress in the weights lifted so far but certainly I am in much better shape/strength compared to the "dead" person I used to be a year ago (sitting so many hours at desk, so many years). Following now Starting Strength program, should my initial weights be the ones that I am right now? Or should I deload some % and start from there?

2. I like very much having always some progress even if that is the smallest one. I am thinking of doing gradual increases of weight of 0.5-1kg (1-2lb) more in each workout right from the start, instead of progressing fast in the beginning with increases of up to ~5kg/10lb. Do you think it will be a total waste of time? Shouldn't this patience somehow rewarded by more stable/gradual adaptation, potentially reaching higher weights at the end of the program (in exchange of extending my novice period)?

Thank you!
    John

PS. I am 43y old.

Yo yo yo aight, this is how it's gonna go down. You're gonna go to the gym, sup? You're gonna do the programme, ye? You're gonna get yuge, like. So just like follow the instructions in the book, ye? The ones that say "yo, boy, wassup, homedawg, warm up with 5s across till the bar speed like goes into movie slomo (well more like just a lil slower) and then jus like do 2 more sets and then bam, done". Those ones, ye. Thas like number one outta the way already, like.