starting strength gym

Thread: Texas Method

Default Texas Method

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Started Texas Method this week, was unable to even squat for my second day. Was still a little sore when I woke up this morning (from 8 hours of sleep). I did one set with the empty bar and felt pain in my adductors, enough that I couldn't complete my 2 light sets. Does this mean I'm still a novice and cannot yet handle TM? Or will my body be able to adapt to this increased volume on day 1 in the coming weeks.

Numbers last week and this week?

245 for 3 sets of 5, got stuck there for a few weeks/resets. Dropped to 240 for 5 sets of 5.

Could've seen that one coming. Thanks, Rip. Will come back here if I still have issues after DTFP.

Brodie Butland is offline Starting Strength Coach
    Consigliere

How old are you? 245 seems a little light for ending LP...

Yo, OP, just run the novice progression for a little while longer and gain a bunch of weight. After cutting for way too long as my entry into lifting, I set myself up on the Texas Method. After 3 months, I was barely making a 230x5 squat on Friday and figured "it shouldn't have to be so fucking difficult at this level". I was right and the seed of doubt that day planted into my mind grew into my quick decision to go back to the novice programme and see how far I could make it. I ended with a 295x5 squat at an overly fluffy 235er. Barring the excessive fluff gain, I don't regret my decision one tiny bit. Between the two volume days of squatting 185 or now 265, it's obvious which one is the bigger, better stressor. Especially given that my ID squats are going much better now than they did way back then.