starting strength gym

Thread: Dad Injuries Affecting Training

Default Dad Injuries Affecting Training

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Long time lurker and first time poster here. I'm a teacher and former CSCS. Once I understand what my injury is, I will know what steps I need to take on how to fix it. However, I have yet to find anything online that's similar to my issue to help me diagnose it. If things aren't better within a couple weeks, I plan on seeing a professional that can help.

To make a long story short, I developed some very minor tennis elbow from carrying my daughters carseat in my right arm over the summer. It never kept me from training. Later, I started occasionally feeling a pinch in the back of my right shoulder near the joint when carrying the carseat as well. Later, I also felt the pinch while doing squats. It was very minor, but I switched over to front squats for the summer just to be precautionary.

Last week, I did back squats again very light. I did 3 sets of 8 with 205 easy and pain free. Later in the workout, I went to do some chins. The pain in my rear delt was so bad that I couldn't do a single chinup. This came out of no where. Out of curiosity, I tried a couple pullups and there were no problems at all. Rowing movements and pronated pulls don't hurt at all. Interestingly enough, I even had pain later in the workout when I layed down to do hamstring curls since I didn't want to hold the bar to deadlift. Having my arm on the handle at chin level laying down was very painful. I haven't trained since. I feel the shoulder pinch only when I raise my cup to chin level to take a drink in day to day life.