starting strength gym

Thread: Abdominal strain prevention with deadlift

Default Abdominal strain prevention with deadlift

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    There are a few other threads about this but I didn't see any advice on what the cause is or how to prevent in the future.

I'm 6'2", 205lbs. I have been training for about 2 years. I was deadlifting at 315. On set 3, rep 3 I felt a "pop" in my left side below my pectoral. Stopped, went home. Applying ice.

I'm trying to understand why this happened and how to prevent in the future. I am using the Valsalva Maneuver on each rep, and even now if I try to push my belly out and brace my core is when I feel the pain the most. Is this the result of an underdeveloped core? A lack of mobility in my abs? Or just shit luck? I don't have any video/pics of my form but I do my best to maintain good form. My feet at shoulder width apart, toes flared out a little bit, I take the slack out of the bar before lifting, shoulders back, pull chest up through the lift. (at least this is what I believe I'm doing)

The only variable here is that my grip was failing by the third set so I went with mixed grip. My left hand was supinated, and this happens to be the side the injury is on.

I do have a lifting belt but was not wearing it as I haven't had any lower back issues. 315lbs is the most weight I've ever pulled at deadlift.

What about my form should I be more mindful of that would put strain on my abs like this? How should I correct in the future?

Just wanted to clarify:

> I felt a "pop" in my left side below my pectoral

Not underneath, about 2 - 3 inches below my left pec. I originally thought I did something to my rib but I suspect it is ab related. Pushing on it is not painful. If I brace my core I get pain.

Quote Originally Posted by bcardarella View Post
    Just wanted to clarify: