starting strength gym

Thread: Am I a Novice?

Default Am I a Novice?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Mark I have been 'seriously' lifting for a bout a year and a half now after going through high school pretty much half assing, training inconsistently, or training stupidly. I don't know if i am still a novice or not. And if I should use your starting 5x5 model. No i haven't read your books and i only heard about you 2 weeks ago and have been binge watching since then. I am 6 ft 3 1/2 in tall, 230lbs. I can overhead press 190, Back sqaut 355 (Just learned how to do that properly after watching your's and Alan Thrall's videos which has taken my neck and back pain away), dead lift 425, and bench 245. All of these maxes are one rep from last October. I have quit bench pressing since I have found it not as useful as incline and overhead for my sport of throwing shot put and discus. Also as a guesstimate for my my vertical (since i can reach 98 1/2 inches and bruised my forearm in late 2017 by smacking the middle of it against a basketball hoop at 10ft high the bruise being a foot from my top of fingers) that my vertical is close to 34 inches.

Yes, you're a novice. Possibly a gifted one.

No, SS is not a 5x5 unless you've exhausted LP and are using a Texas Method.

Catch up on your reading, then do a legit LP! Your 1-rep lifts are all low for your height and weight. You could potentially get actually, truly strong if you kept at it and put on a little extra muscle (I'm 71" tall and you only have 7 lbs on me, for instance ... a strong 75.5" man weighs more than 230).

I hope you do LP, and I hope you log it here! It'd be fun to watch you get strong doing the program.