starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Masters (Over 55) Rank Novice Training - No Bench

Default Masters (Over 55) Rank Novice Training - No Bench

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Mr. Rippetoe,

I am a rank novice, almost 60 years old, and want to train using your methods outlined in your books. Two programs - A and B, three times a week, squat and deadlift in both programs, bench and press in one program. Except I do not have a bench at home. I have the equipment so I can safely do squat, deadlift, and overhead press, (and chins to add later in the program) but not bench press. I abhor going to the local gyms where I have to compete with strutting young people who don't appear to me to be training at all. What they do is their business, but I can't stand the atmosphere in these gyms. Anyway, back to my question for you. Would it be OK if I do the press three times a week? I have fractional plates so the press can increase by as little as .5 LB. I searched your forum and found an old thread, 2008, where you advised a person with the same question that it would be OK to press three times a week but recommended fractional plates for smaller increases. Just checking, almost 10 years later, that your thinking is still along those lines.

Thank you.

Fine with me, Vinnie. If you want to omit a major component of upper-body training, go ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Fine with me, Vinnie. If you want to omit a major component of upper-body training, go ahead.
    Hi, Mark. I can see an importance in daily life for squats, DL and OP, but for which purpose is it good to have a strong bench press, targeting chest?

It's good to have a strong upper body. You disagree?