starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your Weightlifting background...

Default Your Weightlifting background...

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Rip, can you give us a little bit of your background specifically in the sport of weightlifting, as both a lifter and coach?

What positions you have held, any high level athletes that you have trained?

One thing I hear repeatedly hear on other boards from Oly lifters is "Rip's not an olympic coach... yada yada."

If I recall you are a level III USAW Coach in fact? Anyway, just looking for the scoop and possibly some responses to the above mantra.

I have been doing the two lifts as a part of my training since 1979. I was a competitive powerlifter, but we snatched and C&Jed as a part of training with Bill Starr. I have snatched 82.5 and C&Jed 105 as lifts that were not my competitive sport. My best clean was 275 many years ago – power, I believe. I have been coached by Bill Starr, Tommy Suggs, Jim Moser, Dr. Kilgore, Glenn Pendlay, Angel Spassov, Harvey Newton, Mike Conroy, John Thrush, and many fellow lifters. I have never claimed to be a good weightlifter, but I have coached the lifts since 1984. I obtained my USWF Level III certification in 1988 at the OTC in Colorado Springs with Mike Stone, Harvey Newton, and Angel Spassov on faculty. I obtained my USAW Senior Coach certification in 1999 at the OTC with Lyn Jones, John Thrush, Mike Conroy, et al. I was invited, as an Olympic weightlifting coach, to the Olympic Solidarity course at the OTC in 2000. Dr. Kilgore and I taught both the USAW Club Coach course and the Sports Performance Coach course from 1999 through 2005. I have served as the president of the North Texas Local Weightlifting Committee of USAW since 2004. I have coached and participated in the coaching of James Moser, Glenn Pendlay, Dr. Kilgore, Josh Wells (Junior World Team 2004) most of