starting strength gym

Thread: Crossfit for the strong

Default Crossfit for the strong

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Mark,
    I use alot of Crossfit training principles and WODs as part of my own training and those that I train, but I have never exclusively used just CF to train anyone or myself....by exclusively I mean doing the WODs as RX'd on the mainpage with nothing else added or taken away. I am a fairly strong guy with a background in Powerlifting. I don't compete that much anymore but I still train basically the same as when I did.

Basically, I am getting tired of my body hurting all the time as I get older, from the pounding of heavy weights and I am contemplating calling it quits on the pure strength training mode of training that I have been doing for many years. I know I would enjoy doing the CF WODs as they are RX'd on the board, but I guess I am having a hard time mentally dealing with the fact that I know my lifts may drop significantly. Its not an ego thing, just that I put in alot of work to get to where I am now, and I actually feel I have some room left in me for even bigger totals.

My question is this: Do you have any experience with strong guys like me swtiching to a pure CF routine (i.e. following the website WODs)...what types of drop off in strength might they see in their squat and deadlift and bench if any? Are there alot of guys out there that are able to maintain their strength even with the drop in frequency? If it helps, I hit my PR's at a bodyweight of 215: Squat - 455, Bench - 375, Deadlift - 515. All lifts are Raw/unequipped. sorry for the pyschology session.

Thanks