starting strength gym

Thread: Please Help, Programming Jerks Into SS Advances Novice

Default Please Help, Programming Jerks Into SS Advances Novice

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I started learning jerks today. It was my Squat, Press, Dead day. After press, I added 3 sets of 100 X 3 jerks, from the clean position, taken from the rack. It felt awesome, much more natural than the pulling.

Question : how / when / how often should I do these. I don't want to hit them so hard, they derail me, but I want to become proficient on them. Should I do them as full clean / jerks on power clean days. or keep them separate? When I hit full intermediate, for which I am very close, I want to develop a program of power first, strength second.

Thanks in advance!

What schedule are you currently using, and what are your current working weights?

Quote Originally Posted by OZ-USF-UFGator View Post
    When I hit full intermediate, for which I am very close, I want to develop a program of power first, strength second.
    What makes you think that the two are separable, or that power will develop (and continue to do so) without a primary strength focus?

Currently,
    41 Years old, 5-10, 190 pounds
    5 Reps:
    Squat = 245
    Bench = 205
    OHP = 140
    dead - Deloaded from 335 to 225 by sets of 10 - 12 due t a pulled hammy
    Cleans - 135
    Chinups - 12 on 1st set with thick bar
    Dips - 15 body-weight, 10 with 45 pounds

I know power is derived from strength, but I want to start to shift my focus to increasing power to strength ratio while an intermediate. I know I must continue getting stronger, but I want to, at frst, address this ratio.