starting strength gym

Thread: Beginner SQUAT Form Check and Bar Placement problems

Question Beginner SQUAT Form Check and Bar Placement problems

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    FORM CHECK

Hi this is my first time doing any kind of strength training in life, and I think I am doing the best one

I have read the video posting stickeys but apologize for not having the best angle here because I couldn't find a volunteer to shoot my video. So these are with the camera on the floor.

YouTube

YouTube

I got someone to take a picture of my setup
    WhatsApp Image 2018-08-29 at 11.14.57 PM.jpg WhatsApp Image 2018-08-29 at 11.14.56 PM (2).jpg

BAR PLACEMENT PROBLEM

I began starting strength a few weeks back and learnt the squat form through Rippetoe's youtube videos.

I was doing low bar squat; I was placing the bar under the spine of the scapula and right above the posterior deltoid. But as I loaded the bar, I realized that the bar was hurting my scapula (I think I was not doing it right). So I moved it right over my traps which had enough meat to create sort of a padding for the bar. It was very comfortable relatively and then I kept doing that. I kept doing all the low bar movements (hip drive, knees out etc.) with the bar on my traps until recently when I reached my 165 pounds on the squat (which is also my weight) and was struggling under the bar. I went home and checked out some videos like YouTube and found that I was probably doing a mix of high bar and low bar squat; I was placing the bar on traps like high bar squat but following low bar procedure (not doing ass to grass and keeping the back more horizontal by looking 6 ft ahead of me on the floor)