starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: patella cartilage damaged-should I be squatting?

Default patella cartilage damaged-should I be squatting?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hello Mark,
    first of all thank you for the books!!! (I have SS 3ed, and PP)
    I'll try to keep it short.
    I am a novice lifter, 35y, 180 pounds (coming from 155).
    I hurt my knee 2 years ago, twisting it. The pain went away after a few days and I went on with my life.
    I started SS 5 months ago, and since a month my knee started hurting again, not when I squat, but when I stretch my leg all the way or do ATG squats (with bodyweight).
    I got an MRI. (I'll try to translate, since it's not in English) It reads: a deep 'crack' in the cartilage of the lateral retropatellar area (grade III out of IV), some shallow irregular damage to the cartilage in the medial area and type II chondropathia. All the rest is normal.
    My question (and I have searched the board, but the answers seem to vary and I want to make sure) is if I can keep squatting, or will it aggravate my condition?
    I currently squat 250lbs and it doesn't hurt when I squat, but my knees (both) feel somewhat sore the morning after a workout.
    I really want to keep squatting but I don't want to destroy my knees.
    Thanks in advance!

My approach to this injury would be to train through it, especially if it didn't hurt while loaded. You can get the load off your knees and onto your hips if you keep your shins vertical. But I'd be very interested in what caused the fissure.

Thank you for your response.