starting strength gym

Thread: Osteoporosis, DEXA scan and weightlifting

Default Osteoporosis, DEXA scan and weightlifting

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi guys. I haven't checked in in a while. I had my third hip replacement a few months ago, and it went well, and I was back in the gym very quickly. Then I had a DEXA scan for osteoporosis. Since I have artificial hip joints, they can't scan my hips, so they scanned my lumbar spine and my non-dominant wrist.
    Results: frank osteoporosis in the lumbar spine. ZERO in the wrist.
    I'm really confused and discouraged about this. I have a lumbar scoliosis (curvature of the spine), and some articles I read indicated that since the DEXA is read by a machine, rather than a human, that with the abnormal orientation of a spine like mine, the DEXA is not reliable. My primary doc shrugged this off.
    I would have thought that lifting heavy weights for a couple of years would have prevented osteo. What I really don't get is is how I could have it in my lumbar spine, and not a trace of it in my wrist.
    So, this got me discouraged and feeling like the work I had been doing was pointless, and I have had a hard time getting back into the gym.
    I thought if I posted here, I might feel some peer pressure to perform. I'm having a very hard time just getting to the gym.
    I'm not getting motivation from myself. The trainers are the gym are helpful when I am there, but I honestly think they think that I'm "old", so if I work out, that's great, but if I don't, that is par for the course.
    I have lost a lot of strength and gained a lot of fat since my last hip surgery. I think I need to start the program over. Should I go back to close to zero and start out three days a week like I did at first?
    I had been DLing almost 160# Last week I tried some rack pulls and 65# was really hard for me. I think I should go back to 45# and start over.