starting strength gym

Thread: Form check Squat, Press, Deadlift, Barbell row.

Wink Form check Squat, Press, Deadlift, Barbell row.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hello guys, i just started starting strenght novice program and i want to know what you guys think about techique of mine? Be harsh if needed

Squat:
    YouTube

Press:
    YouTube

Deadlift:
    YouTube

Barbell row:
    YouTube

I know i know i should do powercleans, i intend to start doing them in begining of week 5.So next week:
    My starting to curent weights in kg's are:

Squat :60->85
    Bench Press:65->75
    Deadlift:67,5->90
    Press:40->50
    barebel row:40->60

Thank you guys in advance, superb forum and awesome program, finnaly some bigger picture in sense of goal and motivation!
    Kind regards

I'm no expert so don't act on my suggestion alone. This is just my novice observation, but your squat looks like you're doing the same thing I'm doing. You unlock at your hips first and your knees don't get in position within the first 1/3 of you descent. I believe this causes loss of tension and really impacts the bounce out of the hole. This is something I'm really struggling with and it honestly didn't bother me (pain wise) until the weight got to be about 1.25 x my body weight. It wasn't until a couple of weeks ago that I realized there was a problem.

edit:

Also you should address your unracking of the bar before you start. I think a staggered position will lead to it's own set of issues.
    Last edited by Mr_Rogers; 02-07-2012 at 12:23 PM.

Where should i unlock first? I am strugling to start with my pelvis to go up first, it doesnt look like i do right ? Do you have your video anywhere?

Quote Originally Posted by john85 View Post