starting strength gym

Thread: squat form check; hip flexor and knee pain

Default squat form check; hip flexor and knee pain

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Front: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixu5YRjQqwA
    Side: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1KsGUs8eBE

I have 2 issues I'm trying to work out. The first is a nagging pain on the outside of my left knee, and only my left knee. This first appeared when I started training with kettlebells, thus I discontinued use of them. Over time, the pain went away as my legs became untrained. I recently bought and read SS and began training the technique and workouts found in it. The feeling in my hamstrings when I squatted more deeply was an eye-opener and I assumed my knee would respond positively over time as my legs became stronger as a whole. But the pain has reappeared within the past couple of workouts, and is now felt getting out of chairs, walking up stairs, etc. My hope is that if I can correct lingering form problems, the pain will resolve itself.

The other issue is hip flexor soreness. I started squatting at 85 and in roughly 2 weeks progressed to 135. When I was at 115/125, I noticed excessive hip flexor soreness between workouts, compared to no longer feeling any soreness in the rest of my legs (i.e. the hamstrings). When I reached 145, I was unable to complete a single set; it felt as if my flexors were bearing all the weight by themselves.

These clips were taken on the following workout. I assumed I had not been concentrating enough on hip drive and tried to reassert that element of my squat, but the flexor pain was a constant presence. I held myself to 95 pounds, where I seemed to have a balance between the weight still being a real effort but the pain in my flexors not getting out of control.

Thanks in advance.