starting strength gym

Thread: Torn Labrum

Default Torn Labrum

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I have a Torn Labrum in my right shoulder, have to have surgery on it in the next month or so.

Any experience with this type of injury? I'm trying to figure out how long after surgery I can start to lift weights, and after so long will i be able to lift hard without re-injury (even a year down the road)

I have no personal experience with this injury. But folks reading this do.

I do. Recovery time will be a bitch, unfortunately. I had the surgery in Dec. '05 and wasn't back in the gym until June '06 (about 6 months). Even that may have been a little soon.

If you plan to train up until the surgery, I highly recommend dropping your upper body stuff and focusing on deadlifts. Without the labrum doing its proper supportive function, other structures (like your biceps tendon) will have to provide support for the humerus. Because they were not designed to do this, they may take a beating if you train on them. My tear went undiagnosed for 7 years and I am now paying the price in bicipital tendonitis despite having had the labrum reattached.

Again, the recovery will suck. There is no getting around that. I suggest you spend the time reading (may I suggest Coach Rippetoe's books?). You might also invest in a good weight vest and take weighted walks for GPP, as even running will be contraindicated for awhile post-op. It would probably be a good time to focus on trunk work (back extensions, sit-ups) and grip work with CoC grippers.

Quote Originally Posted by jkeith View Post
    I have a Torn Labrum in my right shoulder, have to have surgery on it in the next month or so.