starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Acrobatics and SS

Default Acrobatics and SS

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I'll make this as brief as possible

I work as a circus acrobat, both performing and coaching various circus arts.
    The girl I usually use as a barbell substitute is out injured (tore everything but her ACL in her knee playing sport) So I'm taking this chance to do SS to eventually head back to partner lifting with much greater strength... further to this I would like to get my squats to roughly 2x bodyweight as I've heard this will greatly improve my verticle jump height (currently at 45inch box jumps)

I've asked on other much less reputable forums whether anyone could tell me roughly how long some of my goals COULD take; and the answers were understandably mixed (coming from 'athletes' not coaches)

Current stats after first week and a half in the gym fixing form
    >165lbs, 6'1 21 years old
    Squat 165lbs
    Press 150lbs
    Bench ~150lbs
    Deadlift ~ 165lbs

Short term Goals
    >2 x bodyweight squat
    >~220lbs deadlift+ (to keep my back safe from the rigours of moving a giant tent every few months)
    >1 x bodyweight strict press

Also I'll be training alot of isometric (core/arm) strength exercises as part of my circus training; would I be ok to train this stuff on the "rest" days of the program; providing I eat like a dancing bear every day?
    I'll be logging my progress not just in the program itself but in how it assists the bodyweight exercises I'm already doing/attempting as weightlifting among acrobats and gymnasts is rare... and where it does exist it is usually very unbalanced or done ineffectively