starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength for Amateur Boxer?

Default Starting Strength for Amateur Boxer?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hey guys,

I'm an amateur boxer and I'm preparing for my first exhibition fight. I've done plenty of sparring and I'm generally well conditioned but I've identified strength as an area that is lacking.

Should I use SS to supplement my training? I'm on the limit of middleweight at the moment so any significant weight gain is out of the question. Do you think it's worthwhile?

I used to be quite a bit bigger due to bodybuilding training (and a healthy appetite) but I've really cut my weight down. I'm guessing that SS would help to increase my maximal strength without adding too much mass provided I restrict my calorie intake. Anyone got any experience? Any aspiring boxers here?

Thanks for the link. Do any of those guys train fighters? I'm going to add SS into the mix and see how I get on. Will still be doing two or three GPP sessions depending on the schedule at my local boxing gym.

I was dubious as to whether I should be doing heavy squats, deads and other compound movements on such a regular basis. Thought it might drain my strength and fatigue me over the long term.

Whether or not you gain weight is going to be a matter of how much you eat. So if you want to stay within the middleweight limits, eat appropriately.

I don't think you should use the normal SS template along with your normal boxing training. Maybe cut it back to squatting twice a week and deadlifting, pressing, chinning and benching once each?

so you could just cut out the third day. Just curious what would happen if you went up in weight class.