starting strength gym

Thread: Squatting for the Elderly

Default Squatting for the Elderly

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Coach,

I'm 42, 6'2", 225. I started SS(alternating A & B workouts) a month ago & my squat is stalled @ 215(yes, I'm a pussy). I did 215x5,4,3 on Friday & only got 4,3,2 today.

I've been getting enough sleep and food.

My deadlift(245),bench(185) and press(110) feel like I have a ways to go before a reset. I'm new to Power Cleans(110), so I started very light & it will be quite a while before that stalls.

Should I reset the squat or cut back on squat volume on Wednesdays?

If you're sure you're eating enough (I am not sure of that) and that you are resting enough between sets (maybe 7-8 minutes) then you have taken jumps on the squat that you cannot sustain. Back up and take smaller jumps.

Thanks--I've been resting less than 4 minutes between work sets. I'll reset & rest more. Should I be resting that much between work sets on the other lifts?

Also, would some grip training between squat work sets be OK?

You rest long enough between each set of every exercise to completely recover from the fatigue of the previous set, but not so long that you're cold. Save your grip stuff for later.

The thread title says Squatting for the Elderly and the OP is only 42..Since when is 42 elderly?

Concerning rest periods between sets...I read an article I believe from Bill Starr some place about rest between sets and it says to rest long enough until your not breathing like your out of gas that should be time enough to resume the next set and not so long you've gone cold.

This has worked for me at 49 and will work for an elderly 42 year old

Instead of worrying about the clock I have found concentrating on my breathing bringing it down which is your cardio output I get my sets in within 3 to 5 minutes.