starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: neither book describes a complete novice program, but I need one!

Default neither book describes a complete novice program, but I need one!

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi Mark!

You are no doubt the best strength coach I know of, but unfortunately your messy writing keeps me scratching my head: after going through both your books Starting Strength and and Practical Programming for Strength Training (which I bought expensively overseas) I still cannot put together a complete novice schedule that I can use for my training without stressing guesswork. Talk about "practical" programming!

The closest thing to a complete workable routine in either book is the "typical beginner's program" at page 300-301 of SS, which is obviously insufficient.

In particular I could not find details about the reps and sets of the "ancillary exercises", such as:

-a sound explanation of why chins/pulls are to be performed at higher reps than barbell execises, apart from "tradition" (page 253 book 1), and why "failure should happens at 5 to 7 reps" when weight is added (page 163 book 2)

-the number of bodyweight chinups/pullups before adding weight:
    you wrote "12-15" (page 259, book 1), "more than 15" (page 155, book 2) and "over 10" (page 169, book 2). Please pick one.

-a clear example of how to alternate weighted and unweighted chin/pulls (as mentioned at page 163 book 2): I find it impossible to alternate both chinups and pullups AND weighted with unweighted "every other workout" at the same time.
    See by yourself: chin+ pulls- chin- pulls+ (doesn't work); chin- chin+ pull- pull+ (doesn't work either).

-how many reps and sets for the abdominals, and when to add weight:
    the "typical beginner's program" (page 301 book 1) shows
    2/14 Situps BWx20, 2/16 Situps BWx5 & 10lbs.x12, 2/19 Situps 10lbs.x13