starting strength gym

Thread: Upper body strength success after switching to the split routine...

Default Upper body strength success after switching to the split routine...

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    So i've been doing SS obviously at first, then followed TM for about 25 weeks and hoped to keep on breaking PRs non stop, but reality was a bitch, and my bench press was stuck at 235 for volume and 285 for singles, the heavist RM3 was 265 and I failed on the third half the time, the OHP's situation was much worse as you'll read on, and it seemed that I am not getting enough rest/food/NDTP/whatever in order to keep progressing, being a busy student I couldn't afford more than 2 long lifting days.

At the time I was doing 360 squats for 4X5 and 430 for singles, RM 3 was somewhere around 400, deadlift was at 435 for 5 for a long time, and singles were around 490.

Considering the OHP, I sucked big time since I tried advancing for over 2 months during recovery day, which personally failed badly, I had a 150 as my volume and only 163 as my RM3, the heaviest single was shamefully, 180

Since then i've switched to a split, spread the workouts across 4 days so volume days were less hectic, not 2:30 hours, almost half the time spread over 2 days, and I even managed to add a better chin/pull-up/dip programming, oh the luxuries of having more time to train.

dropped 15 lbs since TM and my BW is now 223, weights went up during that time, i've been on the different program for 10 weeks, starting week 11(reset everything and started light to adjust to the new template)

Current weights:
    Bench press(volume)- 250 and rising, RM3(today's fresh PR)- 285, singles- going for 315 once I reach 295-300 for an RM3
    OHP- volume is at 162.5 and came to a halt, RM 3 is 180, and I managed a single for 200, but I couldn't hold the weight overhead and almost fell backwards, will work on it.