starting strength gym

Thread: Am i still capable of linear progression?

Default Am i still capable of linear progression?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Thanks for this Q&A board, Rip. I've learned a lot just hunting back throughout the pages and reading your responses. On to the question.

I've been training since January 2011. I started doing a half-assed version of your program, but without key components such as eating enough or progressing every workout - so i didn't really do the program. I messed around with all sorts of different splits while i was still an idiot and eventually found 5/3/1 and have been stuck to it for about a year now. I'm 5'9, weigh 170.

My recent lifts are:

Squat - 285x1
    Deadlift - 325x1
    Bench - 190x1
    Press - 115x3
    Power Clean - 145x2

For the first part of my lifting career i left the PC and press out due to bad form and a nagging shoulder injury, but added them back in about 9 months ago. In March, i ruptured a disk in my lumbar spine and have recently fully recovered from it. I'm currently prepping for a fire academy bootcamp, down in your home state of Texas, which i will be attending in a few months (the exact date has yet to be decided), so I've been doing a lot of conditioning work (prowler, hill sprints and 1-2 mile runs) while sticking to the main five exercises (except for the bench, since i hurt my back i've had some problems with it and have replaced it with push presses for the time being, but plan to bring the bench back once i can figure out what the hell is wrong).

Now my question is, when i get back from my bootcamp, do you think i'd be able to make steady progress on your linear progression assuming adequate recovery? Or am i too far along to reap it's benefits?

Thanks for any input,

- Alex.