starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Lack of progress, help

Smile Lack of progress, help

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Mr Rippetoe,

I've started the program five weeks ago now.I' m a complete novice at this sport. I'm 35 years old, 5'7'', 143 lbs when I started. The first two weeks, my lifts progressed slowly at a rate of 5 pounds by training session. I ate 6000kCal a day during these two weeks. Then, being stuck in every exercise with fairly light weights(Squat:200lbs, deadlift:255lbs, bench:110lbs), I decided to increase my calories intake to 8000KCal. But my lifts only progressed by 5 pounds in the last three weeks...I gained a lot of weight, quickly, 26lbs, maybe 22 real pounds without the digesting food... But strength gain is still realy slow. I thought maybe I wasn't training hard enough, but each reps let me struggle and my last reps go to failure or are executed with bad form, so the weights may not be too light for me.I also stopped any other sport when I started, to give my body as much rest as possible. So, what should I do? Lowering the weight? Eating more?( I feel I can't eat much more!). Thanks for your advice.

No, you can't take your calories to 10,000/day. Since everybody else makes progress on this program, something is wrong with your programming and/or your technique, or you have ovarian cancer. I can't tell from here.

That is a really high calorie intake for someone starting at 143lbs 5'7". I know eat more is tossed around here a lot but 26lbs in about a month is a lot. I gained weight fast and that was at a rate of 5lbs a month @ 3500 ~ cals/day.

Perhaps WHAT those calories consists of is the culprit?

Quote Originally Posted by yangwenbin View Post
    Mr Rippetoe,